Easy Broccoli Salad

DSC00534

Some things just taste better wet.

Okay, so that sounds kind of gross. But personally speaking, I think it’s true! Call me crazy, but I just tend to prefer foods with a lot of wetness to them! To me, a lot of foods are better when they’re wetter! For example:

  • Tres Leches Cake (READ: SWEET MILK.)
  • Pancakes and waffles (soaked in butter, syrup and/or wonderfully wet fruity compote!)
  • Chicken and steak and meat in general (whether it’s gravy or blood they’re drownin’ in, they gotta be moist, right?!)
  • Mini Wheats (miiiiilk. lots of it.) (unless you’re like my mom and you like to eat them with, like, a teardrop of milk. It’s cool. I respect that. I just think you’re really strange.)
  • RAW BROCCOLI!! :D

Hence, this salad.

DSC00537

While the flavor combos in this salad aren’t groundbreaking originals, I still thought my version was worth sharing–simply because it might encourage others to try out their own versions! This is a classic broccoli salad featuring onions, cheese, sunflower seeds, and raisins. My cousin made a version of it for the family at the beach a few weeks ago, and I single-handedly ate about half the pan!

Raw broccoli alone is too dry to appeal to me. So, since I knew I was planning on being quite generous with the dressing in my salad, I tried to cut out some unnecessary fat and sugar. (There are many times when fat and sugar absolutely ARE necessary for maximum deliciousness and enjoyment…i.e. cake time, ice cream time, cookie time, cobbler time. But broccoli time? Nah.) I replaced most of the mayonnaise with plain nonfat Greek yogurt. I am obsessed with Greek yogurt and love its versatility! I found that in this case, the yogurt nicely filled the purpose of the mayonnaise: Not only did it add creaminess and wetness that lightly bound the other ingredients, it also offered a boost of protein and tangy flavor.

I cut the 1/2 cup of sugar and used two packets of Truvia instead. Didn’t find the sweetness lacking!

DSC00538

I’m thinkin this salad is going to become a favorite of mine. It’s healthy, tasty, and EASY. Easy-broccoli-zee.

Recipe: Easy Broccoli Salad

Adapted from Chris Loves Julia

  • 1 head of fresh broccoli, cut into small florets (roughly 2-3 cups)
  • half of an onion – chopped
  • 1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese (cuz that’s what I had)
  • 1/4 cup trail mix (cuz I found it on the counter) (somebody had picked out everything but the raisins and sunflower seeds so it was totally perfect)

Dressing:

  • 3/4 cup nonfat plain Gk yogurt
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp mayonaise (I used Hellman’s made with olive oil)
  • 2 packets of Truvia

Put the broccoli, onion, cheese, sunflower seeds, and raisins in a large bowl. Mix the dressing ingredients in another bowl. Pour the dressing on and mix it all up! Enjoy chilled.

Notes:

*In my version, I reduced the amount of “extra stuff” because I feel like most of it always ends up at the bottom of the container anyways. I figure there’s a raisin-sunflower seed-cheese saturation point. However, this salad is meant to be personalized! Want more “stuff”? Up the fourth cup to a half! Don’t like raisins? Omit them completely! Crazy about bacon bits? Add!!

*As I mentioned before, I like wet foods! If you are unlike me, don’t pour all the dressing on at once–you may not use it all. Another note on the dressing: Some would say to toss the salad no more than 10 minutes before serving, but to me, I liked it better the second day–after the broccoli had marinated in the tangy yumminess. Because it’s raw broccoli, it really doesn’t get too soggy. But that is my personal taste!

*I used Truvia to cut the tang of the lemon, in place of sugar. You could use another sweetener or simply reduce the sugar–I really don’t think you need a 1/2 cup to make it taste good, but again, that’s just me!

See? Easy-broccoli-zee! So go go go and make yourself a bowl! But don’t get so excited that you knock over everything like me.

DSC00546

Doh.

2 comments

  1. This salad looks so good and so easy!

    1. Anna Ming · · Reply

      It was!! :D I hope you try it sometime & enjoy it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

